The Forgotten Pillar

May 1, 2009 at 10:54 pm 2 comments

Bull fighting. Is a famous cultural event in Spain.

But we have it in Malaysia too.

Better known as ‘laga kerbau’, it was once a famous game in Kedah. Kerbau was considered the most valuable herd, imported from Siam through Padang Besar train station circa 1667-1940. During these period, wealth of a person in Kedah was measured with the numbers of buffalo he owns. This farm animal was used to work in the paddy field, however some fierce buffalo are nurtured to be ‘kerbau laga’ to fight in annual ‘Laga Kerbau’ until it was banned circa 1930.

The venue of the annual event (Laga Kerbau) was at a field in front of Istana Anak Bukit. Yes. it’s my home area. The base of my home was the stage for the Sultan and his ministers to sit and watch the match. The pillars of the stage are still there around my house, which my granddad think was beneficial to keep when he built the house.

Years ago when my grandma was still alive, I remembered it became her place to put the ‘batu giling’ when makin her own cili giling and the place she cut the coconuts. However these days, with my busy working parents, the stones just sit there alone as nobody are using them for any activities more.

Here’s some pic of them…should be six of them but I wonder where the other one had gone. may be hidden somewhere in bushes i just couldn’t see

the two pillar at the right side of my house

the two pillar at the right side of my house

another two at the back of my house

another two at the back of my house

another one at the left side

another one at the left side

Entry filed under: building. Tags: , , .

‘Talentime’ in my point of view r e k a

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisette  |  July 8, 2013 at 12:05 am

    Today, I went to the beach front with my children.

    I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell
    to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is completely off
    topic but I had to tell someone!

    Reply
    • 2. ilhamsanctuary  |  January 15, 2014 at 5:45 pm

      LOL! Thank you for reminding me to check the shell first if I want to put it to my ears.hehe

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

